Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

Unemployable

Being unemployed can really take a toll on one physically and mentally.  This past Friday marked the last unemployment check that I would be seeing from the state of Michigan until I find another job long enough to “reset” my current status in the system.  I’ve been waiting on any notice from the Feds regarding the status of my extension request which was supposed to take 10 business days.  Unfortunately, our modern government decided there time would be better spent on a two week spring break that to pass an extension on unemployment benefits.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m all for taking a well deserved vacation… at least in my experience, when I wanted to take a week or two off I had to make sure all my ducks were in a row and loose ends were taken care of… not just up and leave and decide to deal with pressing items when I return.  This is exactly what the our representatives did by not passing an emergency extension for benefits before leaving on their vacations… so now thousands of unemployed Americans, such as myself are forced to wait and see if we’ll be receiving any federal aid should we be unable to secure employment.

Beyond that, what really grinds my gears is the fact that those who are lucky enough to still have full time employment feel the need to bad mouth the very idea of passing an extension figuring that those of us who lost our jobs did so on purpose in order to be a mooch on society.  They think that just because I’m not currently working, I must be on the couch just waiting for the checks to roll in.  They are clueless… unemployment checks are a far cry from what I worked hard to earn at my previous job; so to say that unemployment is better is mind boggling.

For those of you out there that feel that I am just a mooch, I’ll have you know I have an interview this week and want nothing more than to be able to go back to work.  I’ll be sure to let you know how it goes.

T.T.F.N.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

