Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

Week 4 And Counting

I purposely did not listen or “read ahead” as to what each coming week entailed regarding the kind of pain each successive week would bring via the Couch to 5k program.  As of this morning I completed, albeit with some extra walking that I’m attributing to a terrible and late dinner last night, and am none too excited about week 5.  While selecting tunes for the next week and creating the new soundtrack I had to listen to in the introduction as to what was coming up.  Apparently by day 3, I’ll be running for 20 minutes solid… mentally and physically I don’t think I’m to that point yet.  I understand that running for 20 minutes does not a 5k make, but the whole program is 10 weeks, right?  I guess I’m a little surprised that that long of a run has arrived already.

The program has worked like a champ thus far, so I’m not questioning the insanity behind it, but I must say I hope I’m not setting myself up for failure.   And if you haven’t done so already, please click the Susan G. Komen button on the right and make a donation if you can.  It is for an awesome cause and is tax-deductible.  Thank you in advance for you monetary and emotional support!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Week 4 And Counting

  1. let’s see…sweet new running shoes? check.
    ipod full o running tunes and an electronic voice telling you what to do? check.
    fancy band to wear said ipod on your arm while you run? check.
    loosey goosey light-weight running shorts so your boys don’t die? check.
    stank and sweat absorbing sleeveless T that does NOT have a whisky brand on it? check.
    Ability to run for 20 minutes straight out of sheer studdliness? Totally.

  2. Tonya on said:

    You can do it Cort! I remember when I first started running and I got to a point where I wanted to quit because it was “getting hard.” Stay strong mentally and push through. You’ll be amazed and proud of what your body can handle.

  3. You can do it!! I just always say in my head… Hmmm… I was out of breath and my legs hurt when I started. And I’m still out of breath, and my legs still hurt. But I made it this far with no air and pain, so I can go a little further 🙂

    KEEP GOING!! Woo Hoo!!

Leave a Reply

