Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

Next Stop… 5k?

Having recently completed Week 5 of the Couch to 5k training program, I have become aware of the fact that as the next week or two gets notched off the calendar I could very well jog five kilometers.  This fact is astounding to me considering where I was just 5 weeks ago; gasping for breath after jogging for one minute and then recovering for two.  When I look back at that first week it gets me thinking of how much I had really let myself go. College, smoking, general unhealthy habits all lead to the demise of my high school physical prowess.

But now with the renewed drive to improve my health, raise money for an important cause, and to be along side my wife as we try to find the motivation to get off the couch and get closer to that 5k milestone, I’m now glad that I shot my mouth off and said I would run a 5k with her back in June.  I can say that this is one of those time where not thinking before I spoke may have worked for good rather than opening my mouth and inserting my foot.

As always, still looking for donations for the Susan G. Komen 5k that I’ll be running in September.  You can click on the link on the right to donate or just see how our fund-raising efforts are going.  If you’ve already donated, I thank you… if you aren’t able to provide financial support, I thank you for any emotional or spiritual wishes you are able to give.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

