Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

Is That Employment I See On The Horizon?

For those who have been following this blog for some time now, you are more than aware that I’m currently unemployed, a father of one, husband to another, and currently training for my first 5k using the Couch to 5k program.  Well this morning and last Friday I feel as though I was on my way to changing one of those titles… namely the unemployed part.  I managed to wrangle two interviews in two days with two different companies; and frankly, it feels pretty dang good.

I have to admit, after not having so much as a nibble for the last three or so months, having two interviews in two days was a wicked awesome way to bookend a weekend.  Friday’s interview was with a company by the name of TransCorr LLC.  Everyone was friendly and said hello without hesitation.  The interview was your standard question and answer, background questions and what do you want to know about the position and the company.  It was a pleasant experience all around.  I should hear one way or the other later this week from what I understand.

This morning’s sit down was of great interest as it was an out of the blue call from the company wondering if I was still seeking employment and if I was interested.  Indeed I was and the meeting was set.  Unfortunately, due to the nature of the position’s availability, I haven’t been able to share what the job is or who the company is.  I can and will say that the company appears to be an exciting place to work and I should hear back from them sometime tomorrow.  I will say these fingers are crossed for positive news all around.  It’s been far too long since I’ve been laid off and I’ve been ready to get back to it for a while now.

Oh, and have I mentioned that I start Week 7 tomorrow for the Couch to 5k?  That entails three, 25 minute runs… ugh.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Is That Employment I See On The Horizon?

  1. You can do it! Getting the job, running the 25 minutes, and soon, being a student for another semester! I am bursting with pride for you!

  2. I found you on twitter through your wife. Congrats and good luck! I always love to see people sharing their hopes and positive stories. Keep us posted.

Leave a Reply

