Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

Can we do 3 for 5?

On Saturday I’ll be expected to participate in my first 5k race.  If you’ve read any of my “training” posts you know I’m not a runner, I’ve never claimed to be one, but this is for a good cause.  I’m all about helping to find a cure for cancer in any of its many forms.  But now, with the race less than two days away I realize I should have probably been more dedicated to my training.  I won’t go so far to say that I’m scared to run the race; because that’s not the case at all.  I’m confident that I’ll be able to finish, I’m not so confident that I’ll be able to run the whole distance.  This is my lone goal, to run the whole race, regardless of time… but even that isn’t completely true.

I recently found out that a friend of mine’s 5th grader recently ran a 5k in less that 30 minutes.  I realize that averages out to about a 10 minute mile, which back in my “glory days” of high school I would be able to do without batting an eye.  But now, after many bottles of Captain Morgan, soda, numerous cases of beer, and more trips to Wendy’s, McDonald’s, and BK than I care to count, some people would say I’ve lost a step.  If I’m being honest with myself I would have to agree with them.

I signed on to run this race in support of not only the Susan G. Komen Foundation, but to support my wife in her journey to improve her health.  Unfortunately, her training was plagued by injuries and she wasn’t able to train as much as she wanted, and now that school has started, she has even less time.  I know she feels bad about letting herself down or possibly others because she won’t be able to run the race, but has instead decided to walk.  I commend her for still deciding to participate even though she feels unprepared.  I mean, she raised the money, nothing is stopping her from not running the race… but she’ll be there, with me along side starting something together that we signed up for together.  I hope I’ll be at the finish line cheering her on as she crosses.

There is still time to make a donation if you’re in the giving mood.  Just click on the Susan G. Komen graphic on the side of the page and it will take you to my race page.  Every little bit helps and it’s tax deductible.  Thank you in advance for your generosity!

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “Can we do 3 for 5?

  1. Fall weather!!! I have been training as well… did my last “long” run this morning… Jack’s doing a 1 mile race with me (before the 5K)… he can run a half mile in 5:04 so I’m expecting good things. He kicks my ass every time we run together. I’m super slow. But slow and steady wins the race. Kudos to you and Katie. Good luck!

  2. you are the best support a woman could ask for…next to a really good bra, of course! Ha!

    Thank you for doing this with me even if I have been a giant fail at my training. I am still going to see how “fast” I can WALK the race!

    Love you!!!

Leave a Reply

