Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

I’d Make A Terrible Hooker

Now that I have your attention

I’ve been an interviewing fool the last few weeks.  For some reason I’ve been able to get in the door and interview for those positions that I really want, but when it comes to closing the deal I apparently can’t do it.  Not sure what it is or what I’m saying that either turn people off or have them decide to go a different direction.  I understand the need for a college education and showing that you know how to take and pass a test, but when does a person’s personality, professionals skills and talent come into play?

I was damn good at my job; I’m not afraid to admit it.  I truly feel that the only reason I was let go was due to budget constraints… why else, in a tightening economy would you let go of your sales and estimating department?  Obviously, if your goal is to increase sales, you wouldn’t get rid of your entire in house sales department.  Since being laid off in October of last year, I’ve continued my contacts with a few of my friends  in the business and I know they haven’t increase business since letting us go.  And that’s ok, it’s a business, whether it’s relation that runs the place or not.  I get it.

But now that I’ve been out in the job market, interviewing my ass off and feeling like I’m totally putting my best me out there, for some reason I continue to be rejected and I have yet to hear anything but positive remarks when I ask for feedback or what I can work on for future interviews.  I guess that’s what burns me the most; I have no idea what to work on moving forward so I can’t improve my chances if I’m doing everything right, right?

Someday I’ll be able to post about how kick ass my new job is, but until then I’ll keep putting my best me out there for hire.  I have good feelings about what is around the bend; keeping my head up and thoughts positive is what is proving to be the tough part now.

…and on to the next one.

Single Post Navigation

6 thoughts on “I’d Make A Terrible Hooker

  1. sigh…i am sort of glad you wouldn’t make it as a hooker. you “hooking”? might be a deal breaker for me.

    But you’re right. this is frustrating.

    I am frustrated…I can’t imagine how you feel.

    I love you.

  2. i’d totally buy your services if you were a hooker (nohomo).

    when i was out of work for a while i noticed lots of confidence got me pretty far. get the job first, figure out how to do it second.

  3. You ARE a great interviewer. At least you know that. Hang on to that, and keep kicking A at each one. Your job is out there. And I can’t wait to hear about how amazing you are at it 🙂

  4. That does sound frustrating. Good luck and keep your head up. It will happen when it is meant to happen! And hopefully that day is sooner than later.

  5. It’s time. Time to move the wagonwheel down to indy. We’ve got a place for you… GO COLTS!

    • Down to Indy, eh? Can’t say that the thought hasn’t crossed my mind… perhaps it’s time to expand the search, only I’d be searching for two. GO COLTS indeed!

Leave a Reply

