Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

In A Father’s Eyes

Unless you are a dad, you have no way of understanding the overwhelming emotion that comes with holding your child for the first time.  Until tonight, I thought that kind of feeling could only come from biological children….

Tonight I had the distinct pleasure of spending a lovely meal at my sister’s house with her husband, my brother and his wife, my mother and step-father, and Kate and Eddie.  You see my sister and her husband recently returned from their first trip to Ethiopia.  They are in the middle of the adoption process and had the awesome experience of being able to spend a few precious hours with their soon to be children, and then having to leave them until the paper work clears the embassy… which could be anywhere from 4 to 10 weeks before they will be able to hold their children again… anyway, getting back to that emotion that only a dad can feel…

After dinner we all left the dining room and retreated to the living room to look at some pictures and video from their trip.  These images were some of the first of my new nephews that I had the pleasure of viewing.  And that’s what I saw it.

My brother-in-law, new being a first time father to twin, 6-month old boys from Ethiopia, had that look… that twinkle, the perma-grin type look that only a father can have when he holds, meets, EXPERIENCES his child / children for the FIRST time.  He had it.  As plain as the day is long… I could see it in the photos, in the short video that was shared… he had that look and I knew exactly what he was feeling because I remember how I felt when I held Ed for the first time.

I couldn’t be more happy & excited for my sister and brother-in-law… they are so very happy and excited, and I’d like to think a little terrified about how much their lives are going to change in the next 2-3 months.  They have a blog called Stepping Stones Feel free to pop in and say hello.  I’m sure they would appreciate the support and well wishes!  As the big brother, I couldn’t be more proud.

Single Post Navigation

3 thoughts on “In A Father’s Eyes

  1. caught your blog today! congrats on the new baby boy on the way!!!

  2. I LOVE LOVE LOVE this!!!! Made me cry and made my night 🙂 Thanks for writing this.

  3. Awe… so wonderful! I can not wait to see them and get a glimpse at the pictures. How exciting!!!

Leave a Reply

