Tasty Buttered Toast

Quips and Quandaries from a re-employed house husband

Friends We’ve Always Known

I miss my friends.

Everyone has that group of friends, that close circle of people that you feel the most comfortable around, they allow you to be the best you in any scenario… and most Thanksgivings give us either that Wednesday before or Friday night after for a late evening of conversation and storytelling… and typically with some “adult” beverages to lubricate the conversations.

Some in North Carolina…

This year, that didn’t happen.  My friends are smattered across the country, which makes for the gathering of everyone in one place that much more difficult. Normally we gather at a parent’s house, we arrive when we arrive and leave when you want.  But the longer you stay, the more likely you are to see someone that hasn’t been in town for quite some time.

Some in Colorado…

For the first time in a long time, I wasn’t able to see my best friend from high school.  Not that we get together that terribly often, and I’m sad to say, I haven’t been out to see his place in Denver yet, but when he’s around, it brings me back to old times, when he and I could kill an entire day listening to music and shooting pool in his parents basement.

Some in Illinois…

The great thing about those close friends… the really great thing about great friends, is that regardless of how often or rarely that you see them; the minute you share the same space with them, any time spent apart melts away and the chatter picks up right where it left off the year before.

This is what I cherish about my friends, and hope they feel the same way… even if only a little bit.

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Friends We’ve Always Known

  1. aw babe. I miss our friends too. I miss the crazy laughs about jerky/mt dew heart attacks, devil gummy bears, and snow biz.

    What I wouldn’t give for just a couple more times during the year where we could all be together.

  2. ditto homey, well said…i haven’t seen my friends in what seems like years now. i miss them

Leave a Reply

